I’m an English Major and Yes, I Want To Teach.

To be completely honest, I was a writer well before I decided to pursue a career in teaching. I’ve been writing a little bit of everything (poems, stories, songs, personal essays) since about the age of ten years old.

For most of my life, I didn’t want to teach. Two out of three of my cousins went to college to teach. My best friend wanted to be a teacher and talked about it constantly while I constantly complained about not knowing where I wanted to go to college or what I wanted to do with my life.

I thought that I needed to go my own way and do my own thing, preferably something creative like making art, writing, or making music for the world to hear.

The desire to teach wasn’t really a thing until my junior / senior year of high school.  I realized I wanted to become a teacher when I realized what wonderful teachers I had. When I thought about my future, I wanted nothing more than to make a difference in the lives of others.

Being a teacher would allow me to help other people like my teachers had helped me. Teaching middle school / high school English sounded like an overall solid life plan and it was something that I knew I would be passionate about.

It could be fair to say that at first I chose this path because it made the most sense to me and there was hope for a job after graduating.

However, the reason I’ve stayed is because teaching is what I love to do. I discovered this primarily by working with kids and by realizing that I was capable of thinking like a teacher in my methods and education classes.

I pull early mornings and late nights, constantly working on assignments and planning for when I have a classroom of my own. I find myself somewhere between overwhelmed and thriving most days. Yet, it all works out in the end and I realize that this is preparing me for the best job ever.

Someday, I tell myself, I’m going to be an English teacher and it’s all going to be worth it. 

A common saying is: “Those who can, do. Those who can’t, teach.”

Here’s the thing: I am someone who can and I am also someone who teaches. 

Teaching isn’t plan B to me. It’s plan A. It’s what I want to do and it’s who I want to be. I don’t think there’s any other work that I’d want to do full time. This is how I make a difference; this is where I fit into the grand scheme of things.

Pursuing teaching has required a lot of work, a lot of energy, and a lot of time management, but I still get to pursue my dreams of writing and making rad art. Most importantly, I will be able to inspire my students to become whatever they want to be and help them develop the skills needed to do so.

 

Leave a Reply

